How can women change the construction sector?


New Zealand’s construction sector is booming with 10 percent yearly growth rates predicted through to 2019 so it makes sense to encourage more women to work in construction and to highlight career paths available in this exciting industry.

With this in mind, NAWIC (National Association of Women in Construction) and Hays have joined forces to celebrate the outstanding contribution of women in the construction sector with the Hays NAWIC Excellence Awards. The awards will be presented at the Rydges Latimer Hotel in Christchurch on May 7.

The awards will celebrate the achievements of women in the construction industry and make them more visible. They serve as a platform for women to pursue and sustain successful careers in the construction sector.

The awards have several categories which cover a wide range of roles across the industry. The categories are:
Tradeswoman of the Year – open to all tradeswomen working in the construction industry.
Professional Woman of the Year – for women who have contributed to a construction project in a management or supervisory role or who own and run their own business in the industry.
Outstanding Achievement in Construction – for women who have made a noteworthy contribution to the construction industry by accomplishing an outstanding achievement.
Rookie of the Year – for women who have worked in the construction industry for less than 7 years. This includes work in the trades, as a professional or in an administrative or operational role.
Excellence in Construction Administration – This category is for women who have worked in an administrative, sales/marketing or operational role within the construction industry.
Outstanding Achievement in Design Award – for women who have worked in a design role and who have made a significant contribution to the construction industry by designing a best practice outcome in their chosen field.
Student Excellence – open to women engaged in construction related study. This includes the trades along with professional, administrative and operational roles.
The Helen Tippett Award – this award recognises those who help further interests of women in the construction industry – those who actively promote the participation of women in the construction industry and encourage their progression.

Award entries close on Thursday 9th April. For more information and entry forms visit:

Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Hey there!

Forgot password?

Forgot your password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.


Processing files…